Seven Michigan natives win NAHL’s Robertson Cup with Lone Star Brahmas


By @MichaelCaples –

The Lone Star Brahmas are the 2017 NAHL champions – and seven of the players on the roster hail from the Great Lakes State.

Lone Star, located in North Richland Hills, Texas, beat the Aston Rebels 3-0 on Sunday to win the franchise’s first-ever NAHL championship.

Congrats to the Michigan natives on the Brahmas roster:

Alec Calvaruso – Livonia native
Calvaruso, a Colorado College commit, only appeared in two postseason games for the Brahmas, but he was a brick wall between the pipes in the regular season. He posted a 24-7-0 record with a 2.13 goals-against average and .906 save percentage in the timeframe, setting up the Brahmas for an eventual title.

Trevor Zenas – Spring Lake native
After joining the Brahmas halfway through the season, Zenas posted eight points in 28 regular-season games. He dressed in five postseason contests for Lone Star, recording two penalties.

Julian Biondo – Shelby Township native
Biondo posted four points in 11 postseason contest for the Brahmas, along with putting 29 shots on goal.

Austin Kamer – Grand Rapids native
The recent Michigan State commit recorded eight points in 11 postseason games, along with a +3 overall rating. In the regular season, he posted 43 points in 57 games.

Pete Kessel – Detroit native
Kessel, a Holy Cross commit, played at a point-per-game pace in the playoffs, logging 11 points in 11 games. He also finished with a postseason +4 rating.

Blake Evennou – Macomb native
Evennou suited up for nine postseason contests with the Brahmas after posting 16 points in 50 regular-season contests. He didn’t record any points in the playoffs, but he fired nine shots on goal.

Jared Kucharek – Parma native
Kucharek spent the majority of the 2016-17 season with the Meijer 18U team, playing in two games with the Brahmas in the regular season. He didn’t skate in any postseason contests.