Eleven Michigan natives selected in inaugural USPHL NCDC Draft

Nick Blackenburg (photo by Michael Caples/MiHockey)

By @MichaelCaples –

The United States Premier Hockey League (USPHL) held the first-ever draft for its new National Collegiate Development Conference (NCDC) yesterday, and 11 Michigan names were claimed in the process.

The NCDC – based primarily on the east coast – is a new tuition-free junior hockey division “geared toward Division 1 college development/placement and beyond.”

Select players currently playing in the ‘Premier’ division of the USPHL – the top tier USPHL division in the 2016-17 season – hold commitments to schools like Northeastern, New Hampshire, Maine, Arizona State and Air Force.

Congrats to the Michigan players selected in the first-ever USPHL NCDC Draft:

Ryan Burnett – Brighton – Witchita Falls Wildcats – Jersey Hitmen

Ryan McInchack – Trenton – Oakland Jr. Grizzlies 18U – Jersey Hitmen

Dallas Maurovic – Detroit – Leamington Flyers – New Jersey Rockets

Brendan Prappas – Huntington Woods – Honeybaked 18U – P.A.L. Junior Islanders

Trent Grimshaw – Saline – Victory Honda 18U – Rochester Monarchs

J.P. Lafferty – Detroit – Victory Honda 18U – South Shore Kings

Nick Blankenburg – Washington – Victory Honda 18U – South Shore Kings

Aryan Batra – Franklin – Honeybaked 18U – Syracuse Stars

Donald Borgula – Canton – Compuware 16U – Syracuse Stars

Reggie Millette – Canton – Compuware 16U – Syracuse Stars

Timothy Kennedy – Armada – Little Caesars 18U – Syracuse Stars