Photo by Andrew Knapik/MiHockey

Michigan ’96 title winners take part in a Score-O for the ages

Photo by Andrew Knapik/MiHockey
Photo by Andrew Knapik/MiHockey


By @MichaelCaples –

The University of Michigan hockey program has its 1996 NCAA championship team on campus this weekend to honor the 20th anniversary of their title.

Don’t worry, we’ve got photos, but for the time being…we’ve got something else to report on.

During intermission, three of the most famous players from the Wolverines’ title squad took part in ‘Score-O’ – the classic in-between-periods game where fans try to shoot a puck through a small opening from various distances.

For Marty Turco, Brendan Morrison and Mike Legg, the distance was, well, pretty far.

The Wolverines’ goaltender in Turco, their Hobey Baker winner in Morrison and their puck wizard in Legg (he’s the guy responsible for the lacrosse-style scoring move appropriately called ‘the Michigan Move’) all took turns trying to score from just above the crease all the way at the other end of the ice.

Check this out:


And here’s footage in better quality:

MiHockey Staff

Welcome to MiHockey, your source for all things hockey in Michigan.