Alex DeBrincat named OHL rookie of the year



By @MichaelCaples –

The Ontario Hockey League announced today that Farmington Hills native Alex DeBrincat is their league’s rookie of the year.

DeBrincat, 17, was officially announced as the 2014-15 recipient of the Emms Family Award just before 11 a.m. on the OHL’s official website and social media channels.

Skating alongside potential No. 1 overall draft pick Connor McDavid, DeBrincat held his own in his freshman season with the Erie Otters, racking up 51 goals and 53 assists for 104 points in just 68 games.

“It’s a great honor,” DeBrincat said on the OHL’s official site. “The guys who won it before me are part of an elite list of names, so it’s definitely a huge honor to accept this award.”

DeBrincat ranked No. 7 overall in the entire OHL with his 104 points.

“This is a special award for a special player, not to mention a great person,” said Otters general manager Sherry Bassin. “To win this award is not only an honor but you have to be an elite player. And for Alex to win this after being told he’s too small to play at this elite level, makes it that much more gratifying for him. The OHL and the hockey world now know that his heart is the biggest part of his body. The Otters are extremely excited for this special talent as he grows in this developmental league.”

DeBrincat joins an impressive and short list of under 18-year-old rookies to record 50 goals and 100 points, the others being fellow Michigan native David Legwand (Plymouth, 1998), Tony Tanti (Oshawa, 1981), Wayne Gretzky (Sault Ste. Marie, 1978) and Jack Valiquette (Sault Ste. Marie, 1974). All of those other players were named rookie of the year, as well.

The Farmington Hills native claimed 87 of 95 possible voting points, eclipsing Jakob Chychrun of the Sarnia Sting (58 voting points) and Zachary Senyshyn of the Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds (25 voting points).

DeBrincat will receive his Emms Family Award at the OHL’s annual Awards Ceremony at the the Hockey Hall of Fame on June 9.

OHL All-Rookie Teams (voting points included):

First Team:
Centre – Pavel Zacha, Sarnia Sting (65)
Left Wing – Tim Gettinger, Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds (55)
Right Wing – Alex DeBrincat, Erie Otters (93)
Defence – Jakob Chychrun, Sarnia Sting (95)
Defence – Gustav Bouramman, Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds (68)
Goaltender – Michael McNiven, Owen Sound Attack (50)

Second Team:
Centre – Logan Brown, Windsor Spitfires (59)
Left Wing – Adam Mascherin, Kitchener Rangers (54)
Right Wing – Zachary Senyshyn, Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds (55)
Defence – Victor Mete, London Knights (65)
Defence – Keaton Middleton, Saginaw Spirit (49)
Goaltender – Evan Cormier, Saginaw Spirit (49)

MiHockey Staff

Welcome to MiHockey, your source for all things hockey in Michigan.